Hurricane Irene… It’s gone!

Not long after the last post Irene was about to hit where I’m at. I was prepared. There were no significant damages done on my side though I can’t say the same for everyone. Some fallen branches, lots of wind and rain pretty much sum up the hurricane’s blow for me. The only cleanup work for here is mostly from fallen leaves.

My power went out a few times, but quickly came back. There also was no flood damage on my part and the street looks clear too. It’s almost like there was an invisible barrier of protection.

Some individuals had more severe damage from both flooding and debris. One thing I did notice which I thought to be rather odd was that not many others from what I could see boarded up their house in preparation. Many around where I’m at were taking it easy the ‘day’ before the storm would hit. Not even doing so much as securing loose items on their lawn. Very few windows were boarded up or had any form of protection from the storm (for instance, storm shutters).

This of course could be because of several different factors, but I still found it odd. It felt a bit haphazard to my eyes.

All in all, Irene came and went with little to remember her with on my part. I, at least, have gone through worse hurricanes that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. We both have the same result from Irene then! Though I should warn you they think there is already a worse one coming called Katia. Hopefully it won’t be true.

    Reply
    • Indeed! I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled on that one :). Hopefully Katia dissipate or change course (Not that I’d wish it to hit on someone else of course).

      Reply
    • Oh, and congrats on being the first commenter ;).

      Reply
  2. Congrats on the new blog! Good to hear that everything was ok. I was blessed with some very good weather this last week. Today even! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Make sure you get some epic pictures before the good weather leaves if you manage to! That one time you took a photo looking towards a mountain (I’m referring to the image found in your ‘Optimizing Myself’ post) was just too awesome! πŸ™‚

      Also, so you know, when I begin making Awesomesauce into a 3D model I’ll be posting regularly on the progress on here. I plan to offer tips for anyone wanting to learn Blender in the process too ;). I had thought about using Facebook for it, but I think this is a much more appropriate outlet for up-to-date stuff without spamming your Facebook. My way of being courteous. More about that project in an up and coming post!

      Thanks for stopping by buddy. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Glad to hear that Hurricane Irene kept its distance and everything is okay for you!
    Also congrats on there New Blog!

    Reply
    • Same here :). I was lucky I didn’t get the destruction that others west of me did. It also looks like that other possible threat Katia moved away or so it seems.

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

